summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/git-shortlog
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@ppc970.osdl.org>2005-06-05 03:21:35 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@ppc970.osdl.org>2005-06-05 03:21:35 (GMT)
commitfa375c7f1b6298b128492b0935e92ecd0fd668e4 (patch)
treefa3ff8e1d30f87b38843ecad1b07497005ca1621 /git-shortlog
parent337cb3fb8da45f10fe9a0c3cf571600f55ead2ce (diff)
downloadgit-fa375c7f1b6298b128492b0935e92ecd0fd668e4.zip
git-fa375c7f1b6298b128492b0935e92ecd0fd668e4.tar.gz
git-fa375c7f1b6298b128492b0935e92ecd0fd668e4.tar.bz2
Add git-shortlog perl script
Somebody finally came through - Jeff Garzik gets a gold star for writing a shortlog script for git, so that I can do nice release announcments again. I added name translations from the current kernel history (and git, for that matter). Hopefully it won't grow at nearly the same rate the BK equivalent did, since 99% of the time git records the full name already. Usage: just do git-rev-list --pretty HEAD ^LAST_HEAD | git-shortlog or, in fact, use any of the other tools (git-diff-tree, git-whatchanged etc) that use the default "pretty" commit format.
Diffstat (limited to 'git-shortlog')
-rwxr-xr-xgit-shortlog167
1 files changed, 167 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/git-shortlog b/git-shortlog
new file mode 100755
index 0000000..1cf8707
--- /dev/null
+++ b/git-shortlog
@@ -0,0 +1,167 @@
+#!/usr/bin/perl -w
+
+use strict;
+
+#
+# Even with git, we don't always have name translations.
+# So have an email->real name table to translate the
+# (hopefully few) missing names
+#
+my %mailmap = (
+ 'aherrman@de.ibm.com' => 'Andreas Herrmann',
+ 'akpm@osdl.org' => 'Andrew Morton',
+ 'andrew.vasquez@qlogic.com' => 'Andrew Vasquez',
+ 'aquynh@gmail.com' => 'Nguyen Anh Quynh',
+ 'axboe@suse.de' => 'Jens Axboe',
+ 'blaisorblade@yahoo.it' => 'Paolo \'Blaisorblade\' Giarrusso',
+ 'bunk@stusta.de' => 'Adrian Bunk',
+ 'domen@coderock.org' => 'Domen Puncer',
+ 'dougg@torque.net' => 'Douglas Gilbert',
+ 'dwmw2@shinybook.infradead.org' => 'David Woodhouse',
+ 'ecashin@coraid.com' => 'Ed L Cashin',
+ 'felix@derklecks.de' => 'Felix Moeller',
+ 'gregkh@suse.de' => 'Greg Kroah-Hartman',
+ 'hch@lst.de' => 'Christoph Hellwig',
+ 'htejun@gmail.com' => 'Tejun Heo',
+ 'jejb@mulgrave.(none)' => 'James Bottomley',
+ 'jejb@titanic.il.steeleye.com' => 'James Bottomley',
+ 'jgarzik@pretzel.yyz.us' => 'Jeff Garzik',
+ 'johnpol@2ka.mipt.ru' => 'Evgeniy Polyakov',
+ 'kay.sievers@vrfy.org' => 'Kay Sievers',
+ 'minyard@acm.org' => 'Corey Minyard',
+ 'R.Marek@sh.cvut.cz' => 'Rudolf Marek',
+ 'simon@thekelleys.org.uk' => 'Simon Kelley',
+ 'ssant@in.ibm.com' => 'Sachin P Sant',
+ 'tony.luck@intel.com' => 'Tony Luck',
+);
+
+my (%map);
+my $pstate = 1;
+my $n_records = 0;
+my $n_output = 0;
+
+
+sub shortlog_entry($$) {
+ my ($name, $desc) = @_;
+ my $key = $name;
+
+ $desc =~ s#/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/#/.../#g;
+ $desc =~ s#\[PATCH\] ##g;
+
+ # store description in array, in email->{desc list} map
+ if (exists $map{$key}) {
+ # grab ref
+ my $obj = $map{$key};
+
+ # add desc to array
+ push(@$obj, $desc);
+ } else {
+ # create new array, containing 1 item
+ my @arr = ($desc);
+
+ # store ref to array
+ $map{$key} = \@arr;
+ }
+}
+
+# sort comparison function
+sub by_name($$) {
+ my ($a, $b) = @_;
+
+ uc($a) cmp uc($b);
+}
+
+sub shortlog_output {
+ my ($obj, $key, $desc);
+
+ foreach $key (sort by_name keys %map) {
+ # output author
+ printf "%s:\n", $key;
+
+ # output author's 1-line summaries
+ $obj = $map{$key};
+ foreach $desc (@$obj) {
+ print " $desc\n";
+ $n_output++;
+ }
+
+ # blank line separating author from next author
+ print "\n";
+ }
+}
+
+sub changelog_input {
+ my ($author, $desc);
+
+ while (<>) {
+ # get author and email
+ if ($pstate == 1) {
+ my ($email);
+
+ next unless /^Author: (.*)<(.*)>.*$/;
+
+ $n_records++;
+
+ $author = $1;
+ $email = $2;
+ $desc = undef;
+
+ # trim trailing whitespace.
+ # why doesn't chomp work?
+ while ($author && ($author =~ /\s$/)) {
+ chop $author;
+ }
+
+ # cset author fixups
+ if (exists $mailmap{$email}) {
+ $author = $mailmap{$email};
+ } elsif (exists $mailmap{$author}) {
+ $author = $mailmap{$author};
+ } elsif ((!$author) || ($author eq "")) {
+ $author = $email;
+ }
+
+ $pstate++;
+ }
+
+ # skip to blank line
+ elsif ($pstate == 2) {
+ next unless /^\s*$/;
+ $pstate++;
+ }
+
+ # skip to non-blank line
+ elsif ($pstate == 3) {
+ next unless /^\s*(\S.*)$/;
+
+ # skip lines that are obviously not
+ # a 1-line cset description
+ next if /^\s*From: /;
+
+ chomp;
+ $desc = $1;
+
+ &shortlog_entry($author, $desc);
+
+ $pstate = 1;
+ }
+
+ else {
+ die "invalid parse state $pstate";
+ }
+ }
+}
+
+sub finalize {
+ #print "\n$n_records records parsed.\n";
+
+ if ($n_records != $n_output) {
+ die "parse error: input records != output records\n";
+ }
+}
+
+&changelog_input;
+&shortlog_output;
+&finalize;
+exit(0);
+