summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/merge-options.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>2014-01-14 18:26:21 (GMT)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>2014-01-14 18:47:36 (GMT)
commit08f19cfe9bff097e8828a289d2daf5f066e1af9d (patch)
tree06a82c4e281b49cc861b1888e52dd360a5ee025a /Documentation/merge-options.txt
parent8be1d04a7e9251380a5de80564284f0099774038 (diff)
downloadgit-08f19cfe9bff097e8828a289d2daf5f066e1af9d.zip
git-08f19cfe9bff097e8828a289d2daf5f066e1af9d.tar.gz
git-08f19cfe9bff097e8828a289d2daf5f066e1af9d.tar.bz2
Documentation: "git pull" does not have the "-m" option
Even though "--[no-]edit" can be used with "git pull", the explanation of the interaction between this option and the "-m" option does not make sense within the context of "git pull". Use the conditional inclusion mechanism to remove this part from "git pull" documentation, while keeping it for "git merge". Reported-by: Ivan Zakharyaschev Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/merge-options.txt')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/merge-options.txt9
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/merge-options.txt b/Documentation/merge-options.txt
index f192cd2..d462bcc 100644
--- a/Documentation/merge-options.txt
+++ b/Documentation/merge-options.txt
@@ -14,9 +14,12 @@ inspect and further tweak the merge result before committing.
further edit the auto-generated merge message, so that the user
can explain and justify the merge. The `--no-edit` option can be
used to accept the auto-generated message (this is generally
- discouraged). The `--edit` (or `-e`) option is still useful if you are
- giving a draft message with the `-m` option from the command line
- and want to edit it in the editor.
+ discouraged).
+ifndef::git-pull[]
+The `--edit` (or `-e`) option is still useful if you are
+giving a draft message with the `-m` option from the command line
+and want to edit it in the editor.
+endif::git-pull[]
+
Older scripts may depend on the historical behaviour of not allowing the
user to edit the merge log message. They will see an editor opened when